Vijnana Yoga

Vijnana is one of the pancha maya koshas, the five layers of the person. It means understanding, discerning and it is only known from within. The others are anna maya (physical), prana maya (energetic), mano maya (mental) and ananda maya (joyful). In our practice we wish to access all the layers of the person – 5D.

Vijnana Yoga is in the lineage of Sri T. Krishnamacharya (teacher of K. Pattabhi Jois and B.K.S. Iyengar).

Our practice is in the form of:
* “Just sitting” meditation
* Pranayama, Kriyas and Vayus
* Asana
* Study of traditional Yoga texts

Our practice is guided by the Principles:
1. Relaxing the Body
2. Quieting the Mind
3. Intent
4. Rooting
5. Connecting
6. Breathing
7. Expanding – Elongating and Widening

“Through our practice of sitting, pranayama, asana and the study of texts, we aspire to refine and integrate the body, mind, heart and consciousness. The guiding principles of relaxing the body, quieting the mind, focusing through intent, rooting, connecting, expanding and an awareness of breathing allow us to go deep within and from that place to see, to feel, to understand and to act skillfully.”– Orit

Practicing from Inside

Although we work with the classic asana postures, in Vijnana Yoga, the asanas are created from inside, from sensation, from awareness of body and mind and breath. Working with the alignment of the bones, the wisdom of the skeleton, intention and direction guide us. Adhering to the principles, each student finds the posture for herself, himself.

sequence 2



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s